SOLVED

External field in List - Copy content of other list

Copper Contributor

All,

I'm a PMO manager in my company.  Head of PMO recently created a new project list containing information about all the projects in our company.  I have a subset of fields I would like to maintain pertinent only to my projects.  Understandably,  they don't want to add these fields to the overall list.

Is there a way to create another list that captures the Project Name from the original list for all records.  Then I can add my few fields and manage off of the second list (as long as there is a record in the original)?  If I'm in the same site - can this be done without code?

4 Replies
best response confirmed by projectguy455 (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@projectguy455: Yes, you can do this without coding.

1) Create a new list.

2) Add you own fields.

3) Also, add column with type as lookup and use Original list "project name" column.

4) This way all the project names in the original list will show up in the dropdown lookup column.

5) Any projects name gets updated will show up in the lookup column.

Hope It helps !

If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.

If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

@Ashish_Kohale 

Thank you for the input - this ended up not working for a couple of reasons.  Ideally, I wanted to have the "target" list on a different site than the "source".  Could have talked them into creating additional list on their site though.

Then I started looking at lookup columns.  It won't bring over special fields, like people.  These were exactly the fields that I wanted to bring over.

I have ended up with a solution though.  Power Automate.  Changes to the source end up copying to the target.

Here's the youtube video that taught it to me - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KYsMNoc7aPY&list=WL&index=29&t=0s .