SOLVED

Deleting Files Automatically after 3 Months

Copper Contributor

Hello, 

Is it possible to create a flow that will automatically delete files in specific SPO folders after 3 months? I have tried using a flow, but I am not experienced with them and am having trouble.

Thanks. 

15 Replies
best response confirmed by VI_Migration (Silver Contributor)
Solution

@Filmanac yes this can be done with a simple flow in Power Automate as shown below.

1. Your trigger needs to be a recurrence schedule which you set to 1 day (and the timezone and time you want it to run) so that it checks the library every day:

1-Flow.png

For the first action select the SharePoint get files (properties only), select your site and the Document library. But you only want to bring back those items that were created over 3 months ago, the rest you can ignore. So in the Filter Query field add the following:

Created lt '{expression}addDays(utcNow(), -90){/expression}'

(Created is the column that is being checked, lt = less than, utcNow() = today, -90 is 90 days ago).

Don't forget to put the expression inside single quotes!

2-Flow.png

It will default to bringing back items from the entire document library but you can limit it to a specific folders by clicking the folder icon on the right and selecting the folder:

2a-Flow.png

Finally, add a SharePoint delete file action. It will automatically wrap itself in an apply to each (as the previous action was get items). Select Identifier from the dynamic content box. The items that were brought back by the get items will then be deleted.

3-Flow.png

Rob
Los Gallardos
Microsoft Power Automate Community Super User

Hello Rob,

Thank you for the instructions on this. It made everything much clearer. The flow runs successfully in both test and when left to itself based on the time margin, however, files older than 3 months/90 days are not being deleted.