Currency Conversion List to List Calculation

Copper Contributor

Hi all,  I'm very new to all of this, so your expertise is required.

I have two lists, one is my main list which will include a local currency amount column, with a column for what the local currency is.  In another list I have a currency conversion for each of the these currency - we don't want this to be a live link.  

My question is.  What process or power automate do I use to make a column return the EUR amount (from the currency list) based on the amount and the currency in the main list?

3 Replies
You could use a Logic App to read for updates to the two lists and then use an Azure function to perform the calculation using the Graph API. The part I’m not clear on though, where do you want to store the EUR amount? In the main list on the same record where the local currency amount is?

Hi Sam @Sharepoint_Sam-Novice, yes you can do this quite easily with a flow in Power Automate and a button on your main list to trigger it. So for this example we've got our main list and a lookup list as shown below. The LocalCurrencyAmount column is a number column and the currency column is a single line of text column. The column where the button is is a single line of text column and I'll show the formatting of that further down. We've then got a currency column for the EUR amount:

0a-Main-List.png

The second list is the currency lookup list with one item for each currency:

0b-Lookup-List.png

Before you do the button formatting you need to build the flow. The trigger is a SharePoint For a selected item

The first action is a SharePoint Get item to get the details of the item that was selected. In the ID field you select ID from the dynamic box on the right.

1-Flow.png