SOLVED

Countdown to due date in SharePoint 365 list

Copper Contributor

Hello!

I'm using a SharePoint 365 list as an action tracker. My list contains the due date. I would like to add a column that contains a count of days remaining to the due date. 

I tried the datedif function together with 'TODAY', but it does not work. I guess I need to have an additional column with today's date to use this one? Was hoping to create it using workflows but these were retired in SharePoint 365. Is there a way to do it differently?

Would much appreciate your help.  

10 Replies

@kobi1991 

You could apply JSON Formatting:

{
  "$schema": "https://developer.microsoft.com/json-schemas/sp/v2/column-formatting.schema.json",
  "elmType": "div",
  "txtContent": "=floor((Number(@currentField)-Number(Date((getMonth(@now)+1)+'.'+getDate(@now)+'.'+getYear(@now))))/(60*60*24*1000))+' day(s) remaining'"
}

Best Regards,

Sven

@SvenSieverding 

Thank you, Sven! Apologies but I'm completely new at this - could you please explain where in the code I should put my 'due date' column? 

Karolina

best response confirmed by kobi1991 (Copper Contributor)
Solution

Hi @kobi1991 ,

sure. This is SharePoint Json list formatting code that formats a column.

https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sharepoint/dev/declarative-customization/column-formatting

Got to you SharePoint View, select the header of your "Due Date" column and select "Column Settings->Format this Column"
duedate.png
Copy the Json Code here
formatcolumn.png

You don't have to change the formula, as "@currentField" references to the selected Column.

Best Regards,
Sven

Thank you so much, Sven! It works, but I'm wondering if there's a way to do it the way the 'Countdown' column corresponds to the 'Due date' column as I would like to have a view of the Due date itself, and when adding a new item the 'Countdown' column would populate itself.

Is it at all possible?

Thank you,
Karolina

Hi @kobi1991