Controlling Column/Attribute Creation

Copper Contributor

I'm new to Sharepoint and this site. I'm on O365 for government, I believe E3. I'm trying to have a page with Discussions and Documents that can be filtered by an attribute/column (maybe several ... once I figure this out). I successfully setup a Site Column, and can set these attribute via the added Column.

One problem is the default dialog on Uploading a Document. when adding Document, it brings up the below dialog

new.jpg

If I add “Fibermat”, it should have drop-down when multiple values exist in the list. Also, it shouldn't say "already exists", it should just use the value entered.

Should I mod this form? How? Why doesn’t it have a drop-down pulling from ex values? How does the user know what’s in the list?

All thoughts are appreciated. If this post belongs elsewhere, please advise

5 Replies
You have to check the definition of the column in the document library or in the Content Types gallery (if you are using content types). Basically what I see is the following:
(1) Your column is a text column and not a choice once and that's the reason why you cannot select different values
(2) Your column is mandatory in the document library and it's quite probable it has been configured also to store unique values so that's the reason of the message you are getting

Whoa! I'm impressed. My first post and I got an answer in minutes! Thank you so much Juan.

I am not using Content Types. and yes, it is a text type. So maybe if I change it to Choice (I don't have the screen up now - but believe that is what the noun is called) then the dialog will have a drop-down. I will try that soon.

Is there a way to change the default dialog?

Thanks again for your time. You're fabulous!

Just so you have my background, I come from Microsoft Access databases. maybe you can share with Microsoft Access.