Comparing # of SPO sites to Teams sites

Brass Contributor

My company is new to O365, and my boss asked me to give him the number of SPO sites we had, vs the number of Teams sites.

So I ran the following two commands:

PS C:\Users\>> $sites = Get-SPOSite -Limit all

PS C:\Users\>> $sites.Count

PS C:\Users\>> $allteams=get-team

PS C:\Users\>> $allteams.count

When I compare the two lists I find that many of the 281 sites show up in the 499 number, but not all.  In fact there are a good chunk of them that do not.  I am trying to figure out how a MS Team does not have a corresponding SPO site.

My boss suggested it might have something to do with a Team being private, and whether my PS would find private team's SPO sites.  I am a global admin, and wasn't sure whether that was enough to see every Teams site or not.

As an example the head of HR had 4 Teams sites.  "Sue and Joan", "Sue and Mary", "Sue and Mike", and "Sue and Amy".  Sue is the head of HR and those are her direct reports.  She evidently set up a Teams site for each of them.   All show up in the Teams, but only 1 of those sites shows up in the list of SPO sites.  I haven't gone to her yet to ask her how she set these up because I don't need the head of HR wondering if I'm sniffing through her sites.  I'm just going to assume that she did 1 differently than the others somehow.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Ted

3 Replies

You can just filter the list based on the Template property, it should have value: GROUP#0

But for your scenario, as you might not know the team to which a given site corresponds, you're better off looking at the properties of the underlying Office 365 group:

Get-UnifiedGroup groupname | Select SharePointSiteUrl