SOLVED

Change News Page to Site Page

Deleted
Not applicable

Hi All,

I'm looking for a method of changing a News Page to a Site Page.  These pages were created prior to the hub sites being rolled out, now they are showing up in the News sections of all pages.

I'm familiar with the Promoted State column, but I haven't been able to find instructions on how to actually change the value in that column.  I've seen references to using Flow but never any instructions on actually doing that.

Any tips on this would be appreciated.

58 Replies

Are you site collection admin on that site?

Yes, I created the site and am the admin. 

Is the column maybe marked as read only in the content type somehow for the Site pages library in that site?

Not as far as I can tell. I did look, but since I'm just a newbie as far as Sharepoint is concerned, I might have missed something.

I wish this was more exposed since I would rather have a normal user with author roles not have to go through all of these steps to demote a news item to a regular site page.

@Chris Webb wrote:
Are you site collection admin on that site? Never seen a column protected like that, that's interesting. Is the column maybe marked as read only in the content type somehow for the Site pages library in that site?

Thanks for trying to help this Drupal guy as I try to get up to speed on Sharepoint! I'll keep reading up to see if this is the best approach for our site.

Agree, it should be built in.

I'am facing the same issue like @Noel_Suarez. new created target release tennant here an a comms site. The column "Promoted State" is read-only in the quick edit mode so I can´t change the value. :(

Try using a Grouped by Promoted State view and see if you can drag the article between groups. I have used that approach too and it worked. At least it did the last time I tried!

@Susan Hanley