A Webpage showing Interactive Document Content?!

Copper Contributor

So, I'm not a Sharepoint expert, but would like to achieve something specific and don't know how. As such, I'm collecting ideas.

I have a PDF reference document that is about 500 pages long. It is extremely detailed and useful, but also unwieldy, overwhelming and difficult to navigate in PDF form. As such, I'd like to create a page on our Sharepoint that shows the content of this PDF (not the PDF itself) in an interactive way. By interactive, I mean that the different sections and subsections are shown in expandable sections, with a section-index on the left, then within the sub-sections, you can expand any relevant tables as and when the reader wants to see them. 

The overall aim is to make the document less scary by enabling the reader to start off on a less detailed, higher level, and then select what portions of the document they want to see based on their current enquiry, rather than showing them absolutely everything and then asking them to search out the portion that they are interested in.

Is there any function or add-in that you know of for Sharepoint that can achieve that? I've had a look around on the web and all I can find are endless discriptions of how you can create a document library, i.e. show some links to documents saved in the cloud.

6 Replies

@hashamyim I'm not sure I fully understand, but it sounds like you could use a collapsible section which serves as an accordion.  

pamjam_1-1653344604027.png

It's easy to set up.  Add your section and turn Make this section collapsible to yes.  Usually I set the default display to yes as well.  

pamjam_0-1653344555972.png

Will this work for you?   

x@PamDeGraffenreid Yeah, that would work great! Two questions:

Can you have sub-sections and sub-sub-sections, or is only one level possible?