SOLVED

Server Edition vs. Sharepoint Online

Copper Contributor

Hi, I'm new to Sharepoint and I would like to know: if a company is using the SharePoint Server Subscription Edition, can they also be using the 'Online' version? Or are these 2 separate things? Can a company start with the Server Edition and then go to 'Online' to work remote? Thank you. 

6 Replies
best response confirmed by tborody (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@tborody, this is a great question, thanks for asking it. SharePoint Server Subscription Edition is the next major version of our "SharePoint Server" on-premises product. This is a product that customers would deploy and maintain in their own on-premises datacenters.

On the other hand, SharePoint Online (also known as "SharePoint in Microsoft 365") is our cloud-hosted SharePoint service. Customers don't need to deploy or maintain SharePoint Online because Microsoft handles this for you in our cloud service. Customers can just focus on using SharePoint to enhance their collaboration.

For customers who are brand new to SharePoint, our recommendation would be to go directly to SharePoint Online. Not only does it free you from the deployment and maintenance overhead I described above, it also gives you immediate access to a variety of features that are only available in our cloud-hosted service. And new features are being introduced to SharePoint Online all the time.