SOLVED

Using PnP JS Core: How do I get a list of files from the "Pages" folder of an "Enterprise Wiki"

Brass Contributor

Hi

Using PnP JS Core, How would I go about getting a list of files from the "Pages" folder of an "Enterprise Wiki" and then getting the properties associated with each file?

Eventually I want to get all the properties associated with each file. In particular I'm interested in Title, ServerRelativePath and ServerRelativeUrl for now.

In case it helps, we use an "Enterprise Wiki" with folders. For each folder I want to generate a table of contents. So for a given folder I would want to filter by the url (ServerRelatieUrl?) for only files in that folder.

Thanks.

8 Replies
Would you not just use csom for that in combination with JS Core?

@Deleted, thanks for the reply.

If possible, I really want to do this in JavaScript. As you say, I could create an add-in and have that do the work. I'm new to SharePoint development it looks like the JavaScript way is simpler, in that I don't have to host it externally.

Also, if this was successful, a follow on project would be to create an enhanced left hand menu. It seems that the easiest way to do this, without creating/editing templates or page layouts, is with JavaScript embedding.

I'm using the judgement, feel free to correct me, that add-ins are for users to add to pages they create. Whereas, JavaScript embedding can be used to make changes to all pages.

BTW I never used Azure, have beginners skills in JavaScript, average skills in C#. I've spent most of the last 5 years or so doing PowerShell and Transact-SQL. I have good skills on both of these.

best response confirmed by Alan Trafford (Brass Contributor)
Solution

Hi Alan,

First, 'Pages' is not a folder, it's a document library.

You can query a doc lib by multiple available methods in SharePoint REST API and PnP JS Core REST wrapper, like:

// Get by title