SOLVED

SPFx with jquery & sp-pnp-js: definitive project start activity?

Iron Contributor

Sorry if this seems like a basic question, but I am an absolute beginner with all the new tooling and language stuff around SPFx development.  What are the steps to start a new web part that will use jQuery and sp-pnp-js and test on my sp-online dev tennant?  So far, what I can tell is I have to do this:

* create a new folder and navigate to it in the PS shell

* >yo @microsoft/SharePoint

* >gulp trust-dev-cert

* >npm install jquery -- save

* >npm install @types/jquery --save

* >npm install sp-pnp-js --save

Then, to the top of the webpart.ts file  I add import statements:

import pnp from "sp-pnp-js";
import "jquery";

At this point I should be able to do a "gulp serve" and see the default generated web part in the local workbench.  Unfortunately the pnp library gets a red-squiggle underline and the gulp serve output complains about "unused imports".  Can someone point me to what I am missing?

And can a simple "recipe" like I have above be added to the documentation somewhere so doofus newbies like me don't have to come and bother you good folks just to get started? ;)

Thanks

20 Replies
I think the issue is because you have to tell spfx that you are using an external library "sp-pnp-js", and where is located. This is done in the config.json file, like (edit your path):

"externals": {
"sp-pnp-js": "......./node_modules/sp-pnp-js/2.0.1/pnp.min.js"
},

Also, here you can find a sample using PnP JS library (also with KnockoutJS):
https://github.com/SharePoint/sp-dev-fx-webparts/tree/master/samples/knockout-sp-pnp-js

and here there's a sample using jQuery library:
https://github.com/SharePoint/sp-dev-fx-webparts/tree/master/samples/jquery-cdn

mixing both samples, you should be able to get what you're looking for.

Luis, thanks so much.  I will try this out and post back here with my results.