SOLVED

SPFX - jQuery causing build to fail

Brass Contributor

Hi, 

I have an issue building a SPFX web part which I think is probably going to be caused by myself being a complete novice rather than any kind of bug etc. 

When I create a new web part using the Yoeman generator and then add the references to jQuery my build fails with around 1067 task errors. The following are a selection of the errors:

Error - typescript - node_modules\@types\jquery\index.d.ts(40,45): error TS1005: ',' expected.
Error - typescript - node_modules\@types\jquery\index.d.ts(6139,71): error TS1109: Expression expected.
Error - typescript - node_modules\@types\jquery\index.d.ts(7350,71): error TS1139: Type parameter declaration expected.
Error - typescript - node_modules\@types\jquery\index.d.ts(7350,77): error TS1109: Expression expected.
Error - typescript - node_modules\@types\jquery\index.d.ts(7350,85): error TS2695: Left side of comma operator is unused and has no side effects.
Error - typescript - node_modules\@types\jquery\index.d.ts(7350,102): error TS2304: Cannot find name 'TCurrentTarget'.
Error - typescript - node_modules\@types\jquery\index.d.ts(7350,125): error TS2339: Property 'Event' does not exist on type 'typeof JQuery'.
Error - typescript - node_modules\@types\jquery\index.d.ts(7350,131): error TS2304: Cannot find name 'TCurrentTarget'.
Error - typescript - node_modules\@types\jquery\index.d.ts(7350,147): error TS2304: Cannot find name 'TData'.
Error - typescript - node_modules\@types\jquery\index.d.ts(7350,155): error TS2363: The right-hand side of an arithmetic operation must be of type 'any', 'number' or an enum type.
Error - typescript - node_modules\@types\jquery\index.d.ts(7502,33): error TS2314: Generic type 'Callbacks<T, Function>' requires 2 type argument(s).
Error - typescript - node_modules\@types\jquery\index.d.ts(7503,36): error TS2314: Generic type 'Deferred<TR, TJ, any, TN>' requires 4 type argument(s).