Need help understanding

Brass Contributor

I'm used to creating internal SharePoint sites using the out of the box webparts Microsoft has provided.

Recently I was asked to put together a site for one of our teams but, they didn't want it to look like SharePoint.  Wanted it to look more like a real website.

I found a third party tool that I am demoing that basically allows me to create websites on top of SP.  Works great.  But at a cost.

From further research I am seeing a lot about SPF.. but most of it is from the perspective of designing webparts in SPF.  While I don't mind doing a little coding, I am by no means an expert and would rather continue building sites using already developed pieces.

But I'm having a hard time figuring out how to get started.  Like I said if you google getting started with SPF almost everything is about getting started creating spf components... 

Or is that the only way?  I have to build everything?  I saw a getting started package, but wasn't sure if that would give me what I am looking for, don't want a fixed template from Microsoft would like to have something as easy to use as the current webparts in SP but look better and have more capabilities.

Thanks,

Terry

8 Replies
components are the pieces used in the react framework that when put together build out your front end webpage. however, they're not necessary. you're able to do a NoJS framework (vanilla javascript, no react) and you can use html/css/javascript. To make everything less from-scratch and more coding-by-editing instead of ground-up, you can use something like bootstrap to get the template of the modernized looking web pages. You just edit parts of it to make it your own.

@Mattw112 

Glad that you want to start with SPFx coding ,there is a Fantastic 40 webparts where you can choose to enhance the site look and feel which are already developed

Have a look !! https://github.com/OlivierCC/spfx-40-fantastics