How to call graph API to read SP list items from SPFx in SP Online?

Copper Contributor

I'm new to graph api and trying to use graph api to read sp list items from a custom list using the current user's rights (not service account). But i'm getting an error. I have this so far

in the package-solution.json file, I have this in the `solution` object

"webApiPermissionRequests": [
{
"resource": "Microsoft Graph",
"scope": "Sites.Read.All"
}
]

In the helloworld.ts file I have this to init the graph api connection

public async render(): Promise<void> {
const element: React.ReactElement<IHelloWorldProps> = React.createElement(
HelloWorld,
{
description: this.properties.description,
client: await this.context.msGraphClientFactory.getClient()
}
);

ReactDom.render(element, this.domElement);
}

public onInit(): Promise<void> {
graph.setup({
spfxContext: this.context
});

return super.onInit();
}

and in the helloworld.tsx file I have this

let items = await props.client.api('/sites/TestSite/lists(\'MyFeatures\')/items').get();
console.log(items);

But I see this error in the dev tools console

Uncaught (in promise) Error: To view the information on this page, ask a global or SharePoint admin in your organization to go to the API management page in the new SharePoint admin center.
at e.getToken (chunk.aadTokenProvider_none_3888c2e89a4ae65276c0.js:1)
at sp-webpart-workbench-assembly_en-us_6db5d03d6aef1b7d63505cff87b165b2.js:65

I haven't done anything on the administrative side to create any api registration or approve anything. I was wondering do I need to do that, and if so, is there a tutorial for how to set it up? And is there anything more in the code I need to adjust like add a client id/secret or something?

EDIT