Adding clickable Visio diagram to SharePoint page

Brass Contributor

I have a requirement to add a Visio diagram that contains links to SharePoint pages connected to the shapes in the diagram. How would I do that? I have no experience with Visio, and I found instructions on how to add hyperlinks to shapes, but I'm not having any luck finding out how to embed the clickable diagram on a SharePoint page. Is there a web part I can use, or is it more complicated than that?

14 Replies
In general it would depend on what the link is going to point to, but typically you would want to do that within Visio itself before the diagram is published. You can then add the Visio web part to one or more SharePoint pages. Make sure you choose the correct file extension when you save the Visio file so that it will work with the Visio Web Part.

Keep in mind that the Visio web part is highly interactive and provides a lot functionality.

This should help you get started, https://support.office.com/en-us/article/Use-the-Visio-Web-Access-Web-Part-to-add-diagrams-to-ShareP...

Thank you! I personally don't have Visio, so the user will need to add the links... the links will be pointing to other SharePoint pages in the site. So there is a Viso web part? What format does the file need to be saved as?

If they have Visio 2013, they won't need to do anything special, that was actually something to be concerned with in older versions of Visio and SP.

You may find this recent announcement of interest, https://blogs.office.com/2017/02/23/visualize-work-in-powerful-new-ways/

Pretty sure he has Visio 2016

Just save the Visio file as a .vdsx file in a document librarie in the site and you are ready to go

OK... this works great, but I have one additional question. The diagram is VERY small, and the zoom is set at 44%. I can't find a way to make it bigger in SharePoint, does that need to be done in Visio?