Microsoft Secure Tech Accelerator
Apr 03 2024, 07:00 AM - 11:00 AM (PDT)
Microsoft Tech Community

SharePoint Online with Azure RMS

Copper Contributor

At the risk of sounding like a total noob. I wanted to ask to clarify some issue I am having when setting up Azure RMS.

I am in the process of setting up Azure RMS with our Exchange Online and SharePoint Online.

I have enabled RMS in Office 365 (azure)

I have enabled IRM for SharePoint Online

I have created a SharePoint Site (and Sub-Site) that has IRM configured on the library.

It may sound like a simple question, but I want to upload files to the site from a network share and want them protected to only certain users (based on a group)

I have upload the files and want all files to be read-only by a specific group (and only editable by another group). To my knowledge you need to setup an RMS Template/Policy eg. 'Confidential Policy'.  When I setup IRM for the library, it does apply when opening the file (as you can see 'Confidential Policy' in the yellow bar at the top of the document), but under the permissions. It is NOT Read Only. Users can Edit, Copy and Save. The only thing restricted is Print, Export and Access the document programmatically.

My question is, how do I configure these permissions and where?

So far I can only make these restrictions by setting the 'Protect Document' option in Word (when opening the document). These  templates are were setup in the Azure Classic portal.

Any Suggestions?

14 Replies

OK, so I've figured this out. IRM doesn't explicit work with Azure RMS templates. It basically keeps the SharePoint Online permissions to the file. This means that if the file was downloaded and tried to open on another computer (as another user) you would still need to be a member of a group that has access to the file.

...users could edit the files before as the default permission was 'Contributor'