Scheduling Tasks in both hours and days- not either

Copper Contributor

Hi 

I am new to Ms Project and I am trying to schedule tasks in both hours and days. Eg a meeting of 3 hours ought to be less than a day. 

There is no column titled hours. I will really like to have them in both hours and days - Not either or.

Thanks

5 Replies
CystralTess --

In Microsoft Project, Duration is the time span or "window" during which work will be performed on a task. It is measured by default in days, but it can be entered using any time units, such as Hours. Work is the effort expended by a team member assigned to a task. Work is measured by default in hours. Although it can be entered using any time units, I recommend using hours as the time units for Work. Does that help? Let us know.

@Dale Howard 

Thanks for responding.

To an extent, the hours in work are not aligned to my my expectation.

It has picked certain days as 8 hours and certain one day tasks as 24hours because of the number of resources assigned to that task i guess.. so it doesnt really represent what Id like to use it for.

Eg .. We have a third party system supply workshop which three of our internal SME should attend. Three of them are represented as 8 *3 but what id really like project to show is the number of hours the workshop should last.

CystralTess --

In Microsoft Project, keep in mind that Duration and Work are two entirely different concepts. Remember that Duration is the time span of the task, measured by default in days. Work is the effort on the task, measured by default in hours.