Project software coordination

Copper Contributor

I'm a rookie to MS Project who has YouTube trained myself to use all of the project software and found minimal how to training for Project. 

First question:

I have level 5 subscription, I have found multiple versions of projects, but I can't get them to talk to each other. 

End goal:

I'm looking to coordinate project desktop with the app that talks to teams so that guest not working for our company can view the task list but not the budget. 

I would like to coordinate the task updates that will be made in teams to update the desktop/share drive file. 

I would like the budget/costs to be user friendly. At this time it's definitely not and because I'm having a hard time getting everything to coordinate, I am not using the software the way it is probably supposed to be used.

Please help:

I do not know where to go to find an answer or who to talk to so I am here looking for direction. I am the point person for may facility for this program, even the IT group didn't know how to set up our subscription.

If I can't get this to work out we will have to cancel our subscription for it.  It seem idea for what we need if I can get it to coordinate.

5 Replies
Katie --

Good questions. You will never be able to achieve your goals by using only the Microsoft Project desktop application. And the relatively new Project for the Web application will not help you because it does not support project costs.

The only way for you to achieve those goals is for your organization to use Microsoft Project with either Project Online or Project Server. Doing so will give your projects visibility in a web-based application known as Project Web App (PWA). In PWA, you would be able to create custom views, one of which would show cost information, and another of which would show NO cost information. You could then create a link in Teams to the view that DOES NOT show cost information, so that your client could see the project information.