SOLVED

Project - Resources not clashing on Master Project

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I am new to project and having to self teach to set up Ms Projects for our team to use.  Currently using MS Project Professional.  I work for a manufacturing company who also use trained installers to fit our product. We use sub contractors in busy periods.

The main goal is for each PM to create individual projects which are then added to a master project for efficient progress meetings. We also want to make sure there are no clashes with our install diary and when to bring in subcontractors etc.

I have been using the sub-project button to bring existing projects into the master sheet. As far as I can see there are no issues here, the master sheet updates when I edit the linked file.

I am however having issues with the resource management on the master spreadsheet. I have assigned the same resources to install on the same date on two different projects. I have then brought them in to the master project and there are no clashes showing. I believe this is a red person in the (I) column. In the team planner view I can see the same installers installing on the same day on two different projects.

Have I missed something when bringing the two projects into the master project?

Thank you!!

3 Replies
best response confirmed by Dale Howard (MVP)
Solution
EHill95,
Good luck on learning Project on your own. Project is neither user friendly nor intuitive so the learning curve is steep.