SOLVED

How to correctly assign resources

Copper Contributor
Hello,
I am new to ms project.
I would like to assign resources to a project in the following way.
- I know the start and end date
- I have a maximum of hours available to spread over 3 resources
- 1 resource will make use of half of the total amount of hours and the other 2 only one quarter of the amount of hours
How should I set up the project and resources? I was told that it is not possible to create a project like this and that I can only assign resources based on a percentage of their daily work. Is it true?
Thank you,
Luca
10 Replies
lucamarchini6 --

Yes, what someone told you is true. You cannot assign resources the way you are describing. Sorry. But hope this helps.
This is very easy to do with Project Online and Project Desktop client given their advanced functionality, but this is not currently mimicked in P4W. Hopefully MS will add it in the near future
Brian --

Look at the user's exact resource requirements. If it is so easy to do, why don't you give the user the exact steps to do it?
Dale that was my point. With Project Online, it can be done. But it can't be done using Project for the Web. I feel her pain and hope MS will offer this type of functionality found in Online within P4W sooner than later.
Brian --

How do you know this user is using Project for the Web? Granted, people will sometimes use the words "Microsoft Project" when they actually mean Project for the Web. But what in the user's message indicates that he/she is using Project for the Web and not Microsoft Project? Just curious.
I guess it was my assumption. I didn't realize this was a general discussion, thought it was specific to P4W. My apologies if I misunderstood

Hi all,

thank you for the many replies. I am using MS Project Professional 2016.

I'll try to explain again the details (and as I said before, I am new to the software).