SOLVED

Help on .mpp

Copper Contributor

I am new to the Microsoft Project and have been going thru tutorials. Each of the tutorials show go to File, Save As an (Project Name.mpp) in Documents or other. I have the Microsoft Project Professional, should it be stand alone on task bar or grouped with my other apps on Edge. I am not finding any area to open and show Project.mpp  Any help please.

JC

10 Replies
JCNadainfo,
The only reason your apps would be on Edge is if they are subscription versions. For example, for Project you might have plan1, plan3 or plan5 which are all subscription versions. However, you indicate you have Project Pro which is normally the stand alone desktop version of Project (e.g. Project 2019, 2022). It sounds like the tutorials you've been reading are referencing the GUI associated with the stand alone desktop version.

So, what exactly do you have?

John

Do you also have a link to the tutorials as that might help us understand what you are expecting.

Paul

Paul, I think your reply was meant for JCNadainfo.
Joh

It was @John-project , I just hit reply on the last thread. @JCNadainfo 

JCNadainfo --

You are not using the Microsoft Project desktop application. You are using the relatively new Project for the Web application. Because of that, the tutorials you have seen are not relevant to you, so you should ignore them. You will need to create your own projects directly through the Project for the Web application. Hope this helps.