Gantt chart help with late, but active task formatting

Copper Contributor

I have a master project file, where I have several sub projects linked in and I'm having multiple issues, but one thing at a time.

First up, I have Baseline Start and Baseline finish set up to capture the forecasted starting and completion dates of the task.  Then I have Actual Start and Actual Finish set up to capture the actual dates for those events.

In the gantt, I THOUGHT Project would show my estimated timeline in one color (let's say blue), and then another color would designate the actual timeline (say green). 

So an example would be I have Task 1 that I estimate will run from Baseline Start of 2/1/23 to Baseline Finish of 2/28/23.  I'd have a blue line in the gantt connecting those 2 dates.  However Task 1 doesn't actually start until 2/10/23 as identified by the Actual Start date of 2/10/23 being entered.  So starting on 2/10/23 a green line would appear, and as each day passed, it would grow to match that day until the Actual Finish value is entered. This doesn't happen.  What am I missing?

As a final "wish list" item, if we surpass the Baseline Finish date of 2/28/23, I'd like that line to turn from green to red, either in entirety, or at least from the Baseline Finish date onward.

How can I do what I'm looking for here?  What am I missing?

15 Replies

@Freeboro 

The green Gantt bar you mention (i.e. Actual Progress) will indeed grow--but you have to tell it "how much to grow" by making entries in the % Complete column for this task.  Alternatively, you can use the "Update Project" feature in the ribbon to mark selected tasks (or all tasks) as complete through a specified date.  That too will grow your green Progress bars.

@Freeboro