Conditional Formatting in Custom Field not printing

Copper Contributor

I have a master project file with multiple subprojects. The formatting is set so that the Project Summary Tasks are blue with gray background. All works well except for the Overall Health column I recently added. I have tried everything but that cell will not format. It looks like it is formatted in the .mpp files but when you go to print, it is white and no gray fill. I have removed and reapplied all formatting in the master file to no avail. I have also tried directly in the project file too. The only thing I can think of is that it may have to do with my graphical indicator settings perhaps? I thought I only had the overall health settings applied to tasks but maybe I missed something!? I'm new to MS Project so I would appreciate any input from you seasoned veterans. I am using the desktop app. Thanks! Amanda

Capture.PNG

Capture2.PNG

6 Replies

@ajaffke,

I think the issue you are dealing with is that the master does not actually contain subproject tasks, rather, the master only contains pointers to each subproject. You can readily see this by looking at the ID field. For those tasks that are in the master (i.e. subproject summary line insertion points) you will see one set of IDs, consecutive but spaced apart by subproject tasks. Within each subproject you will see the IDs in their normal consecutive sequence, assuming you have not applied a sort or filter.

The limited screen shot you show is a task with and ID of 1. I don't know if that is the summary line insertion point for the first subproject or if it is the first task of a subproject.