SOLVED

Sharing App but not Data source

Copper Contributor

I have built a very basic PowerApp with a SharePoint List as the data source. 

The app collects university application selections from high school students. The selections are saved to the SharePoint List in our Records Office SharePoint site. We'll use this list to send official transcripts to the appropriate university for each student. I'm new to this, and I've made the app function as expected when I enter information, but I'm unsure of the best practice for distributing this app to students (hundreds of students across multiple campuses). 

I don't want the students to have any access to our Records Office SharePoint site, but I believe they will need access to the List to be able to use the app to enter the information. I'm also not sure how to share the app with students. 

Can anyone explain the flow of sharing the app with groups of people, and managing access to the data source? Please point me to anything I should be reading about this subject. Apologies if this is basic stuff, I'm still learning. 

Thank you!

5 Replies
best response confirmed by Nick Anthony (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@Nick Anthony for most apps you can just give users the web link from Power Apps and they will use the app without trying to work out where the data is stored. So you use the share link and add who you want o share it with, for example Everyone at xyz then give them the web link. They will be normal users of the app but it is good practice to make someone else a co-owner of the app, again from the share link, in case you get hit by the number 12 bus from Dulwich.