New to MS Flow : Having Trouble With a Simple Automation Task

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I'm fairly new to MS Flow. I've seen countless videos around the web on how easy it is to create automated tasks, and it seems to be when it doesn't involve automation against expiry dates; per the other two flows I have setup that are working fine.

However, I can not find a solution for what I'm trying to do... I have a SharePoint list that I'd like to use to send a notification to item owners when the date in the "Plan Date" field is 30 days away. I'd like to use a formula that gives me the difference between the "Plan Date" and today's date, and if it is = to 30 days, send an email to the Item Owner to remind them that they have an upcoming action to execute for the item they own.  Using the example data below, an email would have gone out to the data owner on December 1st since he planned to retire the item on January 1st, 2018.

Item Owner: First Name Last Name

Item Owned: Item 1

Plans for Item Owned: Retire

Plan Date: January 1st, 2018

The steps that I have taken in Flow are the following:

1. Recurrence: Interval = 1 / Frequency = Day
  2. Get Items: Site Address = List URL / List Name = Items List
  3. Apply To Each: Select an output from previous steps = Value
    1. Condition 1: Plan Date Is Not Equal To Null
    2. Condition 2: Plan Date Is Equal To Today's Date + 30 Days (see code below)
  4. If Yes: Send an email to the Item Owner (using email field).
  5. If No: Do nothing

Here's the code for condition #2:   @equals(items('Apply_to_each')?['Plan_x0020_Date'], addDays(utcnow(), 30))

Please advise on what I'm doing wrong.

Sincerest thanks in advance!

3 Replies

I have a similar workflow for our contracts database. But the way I solved it was do the date calculation in SharePoint.

So I have a column, called "Expiry Date", and one called "Days before Expiry Date" and finally a calculate field call "Notification Date", which is calculated as follows: