Multiple sharepoint lists sharing same columns

Brass Contributor

Hi,

I'm new to Sharepoint and I have an issue where I'm not able to find a way to share list data. What I tried to do is have 3 sets of lists each with their own columns and columns that they share. Each list has a custom level of priviledges:

LIST.A: Column1 Column2 Column3 Column4 Access by users set.A

LIST.B: Column1 Column4 Column5                 Access by users set.B

LIST.C: Column1 Column2 Column4 Column6 Access by users set.C

Is there a way to do this?

Thanks,
Nikola

15 Replies
Not sure what you mean by Share Data? You can setup site columns if you you mean that they share the same drop down data or base them off other lists, but if your talking about just showing different columns to different users you cannot do that out of the box there is no column level security.

You could use PowerApps to simulate security through obscurity to accomplish this but that's only thing I know of outside a custom developed solution.

Hi, thanks for your repsonse.

So what I want to do is have 3 listst that share some of the columns and each has its own set of columns. The first column (column 1) would be a unique column.

LIST.A: Column1(unique) Column2 Column3 Column4

LIST.B: Column1(unique) Column4 Column5                

LIST.C: Column1(unique) Column2 Column4 Column6

In fact it's list level security. It's just that the lists are shareing the same entries just with some same and some different columns involved.

If you mean the value of a column is shared by the three lists so when you update the value in one list it's reflected on the other, then this is not possible out of the box with lists...each list as an individual artifact is not related to the other lists but you can link lists using lookup columns

Ok so what are my possibilities for this problem? Cheers