Flow Credentials: Best Practices?

Iron Contributor

I am just getting started with Flow and I want to try to do things with best practices in mind from the beginning. I would like to create a flow on a Sharepoint list which of course requires credentials. I don't really want to use my own credentials since I can't guarantee that I'll always be the one at this desk. Do others use service/dummy accounts created for this purpose?

Also what happens to a flow when a password changes? Does the person with that password have to go in and reauthenticate the flow?

TIA

13 Replies

Good question. Did you ever get it answer?

I'd love to know this too.  I have a couple flows setup where previously we would have used a sharepoint designer workflow or even a service account.  So far....................... they haven't choked because they've needed reathentication, but I've been waiting for that to possibly pop up.

Have you seen the new Team Flows? I think that this could be a good approach for many of these scenarios. https://flow.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/team-flows/

I didn't get an answer but we discussed it internally and decided the best option for us was to make a service account with a non-expiring password. I haven't had a chance to test this extensively yet but I'm also going to check out the team flows mentioned in this thread.

I think that's the best bet, just to be on the safe side...... for now.  In a production environment, you don't want to be messing with accounts, etc.  That said, I'm very impressed with Flow and how it's worked so far.  With a little elbow grease and some time to figure it out, it's really useful and works well (and it's fast).  There's a lot of flexibility built in that's not obvious right away.  

That said, I'd love to see more documentation and examples.  I know I can do quite a lot but I don't know HOW without extensive searching around sometimes.  That's life with new services though, especially something as robust as Flow.