Flow changes "modified by" column

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I have flow that automatically runs if a certain column is changed in a list. The value of the field gets changed from "in stock" to "used" and triggers the flow that enters the current date into another column.

Unfortunately this also changes the "modified by" column back to my name because it it "my" flow that runs and the name of the person that changed the used/instock field gets overwritten.

Is the a way the keep the name of the person that changed the used/in stock field?

14 Replies

@MichaelMr No you can't change that behaviour, you would need a different column for holding the details of who had changed the used/in stock column.

Rob
Los Gallardos
Microsoft Power Automate Community Super User

Hi Rob,
thank you for your answer.

How would I do that? I am quite new to power automate.
Can I combine this with the flow that ckecks if the field value is "used" and puts the current date to the date column?
Perhaps with a parallel branch --> get item "mydiefied by" field and then?

@MichaelMr The flow for this is quite simple and you don't need parallel branches. But first you MUST make sure you have turned on item version history in the list settings as the flow needs to compare the current version with the previous version.

0-SP-Versions.png

In this example we have  a column for whether the item is in stock or used, A Date/Time  column for the date it was changed from in stock to used and a single of texct column for who made that change. We are going to change the Bedar item.

0-SP-List.png

The overall flow looks like this

0-Flow-Overall.png

So, the trigger is "when an item or a file is modified" and you select the site and list.

1-Flow.png