SOLVED

Collection not populating

Iron Contributor

Hello, first of all I want to apologize if what I am going to ask is very silly, but in reality it is the first time that I deal with PowerApps, I love this platform but I am still learning.

My problem is, I have a list of employees EmployeesDirectory and this list of calls contains information of the employees such as the day of the birthday, these fields (day, month and year) are of a single line text type.

I am building an application in PowerApps where I want to show the birthdays of the month, then I must filter my list by the month field called Mbirth and then order the records by day field called Dbirth, so I can show the list of people who have birthdays that month.

I have managed to connect the SharePoint list with the apps and the records are displayed, but reading I understand that it's better to use collections and configure the data source property of the gallery with the collection.

I have tried placing the code in OnVisible (Screen) and also in OnStart (App) but it doesn't work.

Set(varMonths, Text(Today(),"mm"));
ClearCollect(colBirthDay,Filter(EmployeesDirectory,Mbirth=varMonths));

But my problem is that the collection is not only not filled, even when I go into the properties I see some fields that are not the fields of my list.

Can anyone give me any suggestions as to what might be going on?

I put the code of the filter and the images of the collection.

Thank you very much, I hope you can help me.

16 Replies

Hi @ADumith , I built a quick solution to demonstrate how you can achieve this. First I built a simple SP list:

jonlake_0-1650097783821.png

I built a simple app and set the 'on start' property to this:

//set a variable to the current month
Set(varMonth, Text(Now(),"mm"));

//create a collection of all eployee records in ascending order by mbirth
ClearCollect(colBirthDay, Sort(EmployeesDirectory,month_of_birth,Ascending));

jonlake_5-1650098367607.png