SOLVED

cannot get the ID of the seleted item

Copper Contributor

Hello PowerApps Team,

I am a beginner in Sharepoint and I need to use PowerApps and flows to update a word document value and to send it after that by email. More specifically, for a selected item in the Sharepoint List, when I click in the edit Ribon, I have a "send letter" button (in the edit mode only). When I click on it, I need to use the data of the selected item to fulfill the document and then to send it. I am struggling in the first part of the flow because  I cannot use the ID of the selected item as an (Id) in the (get item) step. How should I deal with this? (see attached screenshot).

Thanks,

Sabrine

6 Replies

Hi @sabrinekalboussi,

Try putting the FieldId value from "For a selected file" into a variable and then use the variable in "Get files (properties)" action.

Sample image below.

Untitled.png

I hope this helps.

Norm

You cannot use selected item with a powerapps trigger like that. What you need to do is pass the identifier via powerapps. So for that ID in get File you use the “ask in powerapps” option in the identifier field. This way when you call the flow you can use the selected item identifier from powerapp when calling the flow.

An i understanding this is what your doing by making a button call a flow from the app right?