Beginner lost in vocabulary - seeking a way to create folders programmatically

Copper Contributor

Greetings.

I'm looking for a way to programmatically create a set of folders in a document library. I have no training or background in SharePoint or Teams. I'm trying to help out my organization while I have some unoccupied time.

I have found several online examples of using a triggering a Flow using a Power App to create a folder - but every one I find seems to be bound to a particular SharePoint site at the time of creation, and I need to be able to execute this behavior frequently as new sites are created.

As per the subject line, a major frustration is the vocabulary. I'm having trouble finding rigorous definitions of Flows and Power Apps, so I might be asking for the wrong thing - or even in the wrong place. It an ideal world, the entire automated process would include or even be launched from Teams.  

I think the creation of a "team" in Teams creates a "site" in SharePoint, and the creation of a "channel" in the team creates a "document library" in SharePoint, which can be accessed as a "Folder" via OneDrive. I might be wrong on any or all of those points and don't know where to go to prove it one way or the other. 

All clues welcome. Thanks for your time.

2 Replies

Hi there, let me see if I can help a bit

Microsoft Teams uses SharePoint to store documents.

- When a Microsoft Team is created, a SharePoint site is created to store documents for that Team

- Each Channel in the Team has a Folder in the 'Documents' library (default library) of that SharePoint site

Power Automate is used to create Flows. A Flow is a workflow, that triggers either manually or when an event of some type occurs e.g. a new document is added to a Document Library, an email is recieved, a List item is created or modified etc (there are hundreds of triggers for different applications)