Automate routing a document to specific chain of people?

Steel Contributor

Howdy,

I'm brand new to Flow/Power Automate but had a request fro our Recruiting department that I'm guessing it might be able to help with.

We would like to automate the process for an internal employee to apply to a current job opening.  We want them to fill out the application form and the submit it somehow.  We then want it to automatically route to their manager for approval.  Then after the manager approves it, we want it routed to the HR Department for approval.  Then finally to the Recruiting Manager.

Is that sort of thing possible and does anyone have any tutorials or info I can check out to figure out how to make it happen?

Thanks!

5 Replies

Hello @Mike Boehm 

I see you do not have a reply yet. I do not use Flow/Power Automate but if you hang with me, I can talk process with you.

I use workflows to send mail at different stages for my custom SharePoint lists.

I create additional fields (that I don't display) that capture stages that need to be met before the mail is sent to someone. The workflow will check the criteria and only send mail if that field says Yes/No.

• Job applicant submits form.
  • Workflow runs, STAGE ONE identifies that "Mail sent to Manager" = No.
    • Workflow sends email (with link to the Form which asks for manager approval)
    • Workflow also updates field "Mail sent to Manager" = Yes
  • The custom form the manager reviews is a combination of a display form (to show the applicant information) and edit form (to collect manager feedback and approval).
  • On edit made by manager to approve, the workflow runs again.
    • STAGE ONE criteria not met now that we have "Yes"
    • STAGE TWO identifies that "Mail sent to HR" = No and MgrApproval = "Yes"
      • Workflow send email (same as above) to HR
      • Workflow also updates field "Mail sent to HR" - Yes
  • The customer form the HR reviews is similar as above