Advice sought to build document review workflow in Sharepoint

Deleted
Not applicable

I'm new to using and setting up workflows in SharePoint so hoping for some direction - hopefully I make some sense!

My company has a library of documents, such as Procedures, Forms etc on SharePoint Online which need to undergo scheduled reviews, updates and approvals. At least every 3 years but in some cases more frequently (say every six months).

Currently the whole process is manually driven - myself or another team member identifies which documents are nearing their review date from an column in and Excel register of the documents we have, and send email notifications with a link or copy of the document to be reviewed to the designated Document Owner. Then we (the Quality Dept) have to follow up if the review goes over the allotted time and then arrange for the document to be approved by the designated Approver before we (Quality Dept) check the document meets the right format and content requirements, add info about revisions, next review date etc to the footer and then upload the new version to the Sharepoint library.

We'd like to try and use workflows in Sharepoint to help automate the process but have not found a great solution with either the Microsoft Flow Templates or the built in SharePoint Workflows (Eg Approval Workflow, Collect Feedback Workflow). But, as I say, I'm a rank beginner so it's all rather confusing to me!

What I'm hoping to be able to have the workflow do is:

• When Document is a month away from scheduled review date a workflow is triggered to email notify the Document Owner to review the document. Also email the Approver and our team for information.