How to bulk delete old emails?

Copper Contributor

I've been using Outlook 365 for a couple of years, on an Outlook Exchange account.

I just had an email telling me that my space is running out... Almost at 25gb!

So I've logged in to OWA to see about clearing out old emails (they go back to 2010, which is odd because I've only had an Exchange account since 2017) but it looks like there's no way to bulk delete old emails bar highlighting one, scrolling up the list and SHIFT+ Highlighting one further up the list.

But, it only lets me do a few at a time, and I seem to have a few hundred thousand emails in there.  It would take days to delete the old emails like this.

Is there another way!?

13 Replies

You're better off setting a retention policy, which will automatically delete older messages or move them to the Online Archive (if such is enabled). Check with your IT support folks though, as we cannot know what kind of policies are configured in your organization.

If you plan to do thing via the client, you can create a search for messages received prior a given date (for example Received<06/15/2017), then select all > delete all.

@Vasil MichevThanks for the reply!

However, how do I do the search!?  I only have a search within the mailbox and it doesn't have any advanced options for the search - just a simple text search.

And what is the Retention Policy - will it work retroactively?

Hi, I’m on phone and cannot verify right now but I thought they fixed the ”clean-up tool” by now. Try using the old OWA interface as I think you can bulk delete there. See this conversation for a direct link, use a InPrivate/Incognito window
https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/office-365/how-to-cleanup-storage-on-new-o365-outlook-interfa...

@MattOHC185 I gave you example above on how you can do the search, just change the date as needed.