Wrong time zone and date format

MVP

Hello,

I've noticed that for our tenant, all OneDrive for Business sites have US date format. I am versed in SharePoint, so I know to go to Site Settings and change the regional settings. But that's just me.

As an administrator, I need to change all of our user sites to NZ region and language. Note that we sync from local AD, but the language field in AD is blank. I assume that means that the tenant default language and region is applied.

Questions:

1. Where can I set the default region and language for the tenant, so that new users get correct OD4B settings for my country?

2. How can I most efficiently change all existing OD4B sites in our tenant to the correct region and time zone?

9 Replies
PowerShell is your best friend here...I think you can solve both 1. and 2. following what it's described here: http://msexperttalk.com/configuring-office-365-preferred-language-settings/

Thanks, I'll take a look at that. It's astounding, though, that this is so hard to do, i.e. not possible with the Office Admin GUI. Or am I missing something?

Is Powershell the ONLY way to set the region and time zone for a single region tenant who is not in the US? How do US businesses on the East cost change from the default Pacific time to their time zone? Is Powershell really the only option?

Surely, Microsoft can't expect everyone to default to a US setting. Why do they make it so hard to apply non-US as a tenant setting?

PowerShell is the best option for people who enjoy writing code. It is much easier to change a setting in SharePoint by simply going to the appropriate settings page than trying to write a PowerShell script.

https://sharepointmaven.com/sharepoint-time-zone/