Stop OneDrive syncing to SharePoint Team site

Copper Contributor

I am somewhat new to O365 tech. I changed folder redirect GPO to redirect user Documents folder to their OneDrive. I found a good article on how to do that with item level targeting. It worked fine, except folders from the users' OneDrive folder started to sync to the Document library in the department Team site on SharePoint online in addition to their OneDrive. How do I stop that? Searched all over cannot even find a reason why it is doing that. Any help is appreciated.

9 Replies
My intuition is that you have redirected SharePoint folders rather than OneDrive folders, or have somehow confused SharePoint folder links in OneDrive with native folders. '
Open a ticket with Microsoft.

@Mike Williams 

Thanks for the reply.

No, not redirecting SharePoint folders. Redirecting Documents folder to the user's company onedrive -- %userprofile%\onedrive - companyname. And 4 of the 5 in the department I created the GPO setting for do not have this happening. All the folders initially sync'd to SharePoint and also remain in their OneDrive. The Documents link on Start menu does correctly point to their OneDrive as the location and all their files and folders are in there. And after I deleted their folders from SharePoint, only the My Music, My Video and an Adobe folders (the one for user specific stuff contained in their Documents folder) keep copying back to the Team site everytime they logon on to their laptop.

If no one knows what could cause this, then yes I will open a support ticket. But of course I post to a tech forum first to see if there is a straight forward reason someone might be aware of.

It's a bit hard to tell as we can't see what you've done or what scripts you have used. Text descriptions often wildly inaccurate or missing important details on these forums (from long experience).