Home

Prevent files from showing up in Shared with me

%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1092078%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EPrevent%20files%20from%20showing%20up%20in%20Shared%20with%20me%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1092078%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%20Folks%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3Ewe%20are%20migrating%20from%20a%20legacy%20system%20to%20O365.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EWhat%20we%20have%20noticed%20is%20that%20when%20content%20with%20item%20level%20permissions%20is%20migrated%20to%20o365%2C%20then%20in%20the%20OneDrive%20%22Shared%20with%20me%22%20tab%2C%20the%20content%20with%20custom%20permissions%20shows%20up%20stating%20that%20the%20migration%20account%20has%20shared%20files%20with%20the%20user.%20The%20problem%20is%20that%20most%20of%20the%20content%20is%20many%20years%20old%20and%20is%20causing%20confusion%20for%20the%20users.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EIs%20there%20a%20way%20to%20prevent%20the%20files%20from%20showing%20up%20in%20the%20%22Shared%20with%20me%22%20section%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-1092078%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EOffice%20365%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EOneDrive%20for%20Business%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1092206%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Prevent%20files%20from%20showing%20up%20in%20Shared%20with%20me%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1092206%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EI'm%20afraid%20there%20is%20not%20a%20way%20to%20prevent%20this%20(unfortunately)%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
Frequent Contributor

Hi Folks,

 

we are migrating from a legacy system to O365.

What we have noticed is that when content with item level permissions is migrated to o365, then in the OneDrive "Shared with me" tab, the content with custom permissions shows up stating that the migration account has shared files with the user. The problem is that most of the content is many years old and is causing confusion for the users.

Is there a way to prevent the files from showing up in the "Shared with me" section?

 

1 Reply
Highlighted
I'm afraid there is not a way to prevent this (unfortunately)