Onedrive readonly (green locks)

Copper Contributor

I've recently installed the latest preview build on the next-gen OneDrive client. I installed this version to test SharePoint document library syncing. I'm able to sync document libraries, but all folders and files appear to be read only on my laptop. I also see green lock icons instead of green checkmarks on all these files and folders. Is there something I'm doing wrong? I already tried to reset OneDrive and did a complete reinstall. Unfortunately I still see the green locks. I have these locks only with team sites. My personal OneDrive is working without problems.

2017-01-15_14-29-37.png

44 Replies

I have tried everything thats on the form with the Metadata Required filed option to be set as "Optional". Even Microsft working on it, but still the lock stays.

please help!!

I am not an expert but found my solution from posts above so 

All seems to be OK this morning

Hi Megan,

What solution did you use to get this fixed?

I have the same issue with One user only. Everyone else can sync the library without locks. Versioning is off and Check out is off from the get go so don't know why this one user has the issue

I have the same green lock in "One drive" aka "OneDrive.exe" However i also have "One drive for busness" aka "GROOV.EXE" syncing the same share-point sites... and this works fine.

Capture.PNG

So if this is a limitation of the "OneDrive.exe" 

Ok so spent 45 mins on the phone to Microsoft to find out that there is another setting you have to turn off if your using it. (not just the check in feature but the approvals one also!)

"Require content approval for submitted items?" needs to be set to "NO"

This will also automatically set " Who should see draft items in this document library?" to "Any user who can read items" 

These options can be found under "Library settings" -> "version Settings

Hope this helps someone

I believe what Microsoft have done here is break one thing to fix another.