SOLVED

OneDrive Differential sync all files (Dec 2019) and live/active PST files ?

Steel Contributor

Hi Everyone,

With the rollout of "Differential sync for all file types" in Dec 2019, does this mean that  PST files that are actively used by Outlook can now be stored in OneDrive ?

I know that up to this point MS don't recommend putting PST files that are in use by Outlook into OneDrive but I thought I'd see if this "All file types" means a change ??

Anyone at MS have a comment ?

8 Replies
best response confirmed by Dorje McKinnon (Steel Contributor)
Solution
Yes it will work with pst however it will only sync after the file is unlocked so it would only sync when outlook is closed etc.

From the South Pacific, many thanks @Chris Webb  for responding so quickly.

One Question about Volume transferred:

Use case : As a rural farmer advisor (my users), I have been working for the company 15 years and have a large PST file (3Gb) in my OneDrive. Periodically my laptop falls into a river or gets run over by farm machinery. To make sure I get back everything that I care about when I get a replacement laptop does this mean I need to:

- close outlook every day

- leave my laptop and OneDrive running

- allow for the 3Gb sync to the copy of the PST file in OneDrive online 
OR

- allow for the 20MB of email that came in that day to sync to the copy of the PST file in OneDrive online 

Many thanks Dorje

It’ll sync the changes only during a window before or after outlook is running so 20mb.

I highly recommend moving the pst import to exchange archive if possible.

Syncing PSTs to OneDrive is a recipe for disaster, there are zero good reasons to do so, and a million reason why you should avoid using PSTs altogether. There will be no change in Microsoft's recommendation about PSTs at any time in the future, they're a legacy solution you should avoid using wherever possible.