SOLVED

Word 365 version confusion

Copper Contributor

I'm a new MS Office 365 subscriber. This is probably a very basic question - but after more than an hour of searching, I can find no answer to it.

I recently switched to a Chromebook, and, needing to edit Word docs, installed the Word for Android app, created a Microsoft account, and bought a subscription to Office 365. But the version of Word I can now access appears to be a severely stripped-down version, lacking (for me - I'm an author) essential features. (Two examples of many:  the ability to change style defaults; the ability to create a custom document template.)

So here's the question I cannot find an answer to: is what I am looking at *actually* the full MS Word 365 version - or have I failed to do something to enable that version? (Please see screenshot.)

Thanks.  

6 Replies

Hi, it's a good question, there are two options, first, you can't install Office conventionally like you could with a PC or Mac, as Chromebooks don't work that way.  To recap, there is either Office Online, the web version of Office or the Office mobile apps, the Android apps which are supported on some Chromebook models, which is what you are using:

How to install and run Microsoft Office on a Chromebook

Chrome OS Systems Supporting Android Apps

You won't get all the functionality of the full Office 2016 programs but you get commonly used features and as a qualifying Office 365 subscriber, you get access to more features in the mobile apps when you sign in.

What you can do in the Office apps on an Android, iOS, or Windows mobile device with an Office 365 s...

Android extra features

So there are a few factors that come into this.

Oh wow. 

Let me be sure I'm clear on this. I have a 365 "qualifying plan" - Office 365 Personal. But you are saying that, because I'm on a Chromebook, I in fact *cannot access* a full-blown version of Word at all, only this stripped-down version.