Teams trial license expiring

Brass Contributor

Hi everyone,
I'm confused with licensing for free Versions of Microsoft Teams.
I have an Office 365 E1 subscription. 
Some time ago I started to use Teams with some customers/students. I created user accounts for them in my Active Directory and assigned Teams Trial licenses to them.
Now I saw under licenses that all Teams Trail licenses are expiring soon, without any further information about that. 

ArneDD_0-1588217050081.png

Until now everything works as normal and I didnt noticed any change for the assigned users.
I googled for expiring trials but found different informations.
Will the trial actually end now? Will it end for all users at the same time? what will happen then, with their data? 
There also is a free plan for Microsoft Teams.
Will I be able to assign that to the users under my tennant/domain? What is the difference to the MS Teams Trial?

4 Replies

Hi,

You Trial licenses will expire at the same time for all users, since you acquired them at the same time. Your data will be kept, so more here:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoftteams/iw-trial-teams

With the Teams Trial you get a full version of Teams, Teams free have some limitations. I don't think it is possible to move from Teams payed (trial) to Teams free, it is only possible the other way.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/office/differences-between-microsoft-teams-and-microsoft-teams-f...

@Linus CansbyThanks for your answer. The license was called "Microsoft Teams Trial (free)", which actually doesnt make to much sense at all, because why would you need a trial for something that is free?
When I look in the comparison between the free MS Teams and the full MS Teams, these licenses were definitely free licenses. There was a maximum of 500000 and for example MS Stream was not included.
That is part of what is so confusing to me.