Same users but new domain with AD Connect...

Copper Contributor

Hi,
I explain my future problem;) but I can't find information about it
I have a local AD that is synchronized with Azure AD connect for my Office 365 (Exchange Online) accounts. I will change my local domain (name change) and redo all my users (migration seems too risky for the few accounts - it's on a W2008 yet... to W2016) but it will be important that the new accounts synchronize on Azure AD and keep the existing Exchange accounts.
How to:

- disconnect my old domain then reconnect my new domain but keeping the Exchange / Sharepoint / etc ... accounts of my users ?

Thanks and Sorry for my english ... I'm french 

AM 

5 Replies
One way, and I'm not an expert on this topics, is just stop to sync your AD with Office 365 so all your users will be cloud users, do the migration and then setup up again AD Sync with Azure AD Connect

Thanks for your reply, 

I did not know that disconnecting AD sync, O365 would convert accounts to Cloud account.

it would be really good :) 
however, when I'm going to reconnect the AD sync with my new domain, how will it link to the cloud accounts and accounts of my new AD? just with the email address? the SID is not the unique reference as locally?

After you are finished with the migration, you can prepare the user objects in order to "match" them against the users already existing in O365. You have two options:

1) Soft-match, based on the primary SMTP address: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2641663. This will require you to clear the immutableID first.

2) Hard-match, based on the objectID: http://blogs.technet.com/b/praveenkumar/archive/2014/04/12/how-to-do-hard-match-in-dirsync.aspx

Both methods will yield same results, after you re-enable DirSync the accounts should be "linked".

@Alexis MONIOT 

Hey Alexis,