Retention policies for modern team sites

Iron Contributor

Trying to get my head round retention and protecting team sites created by users from being deleted and have been looking at Retention policies for sharepoint sites. 

I am able to create a policy and choose select sites by searching for them using the full url however I can only find sites that I am a member of. As a Global Admin I was hoping to be able to apply retention to all sites whether I am a member/owner or not.

Is this expected behaviour or have I missed something? Any help appreciated.

8 Replies
Are you trying to retain data even if a site is deleted, or truly prevent site deletion? Retention policies will help preserve data, but they won't prevent deletion completely; permissions should be your go to for that.

That being said, if you use the retention policies in the Security & Compliance center, you should be able to see all SharePoint sites as long as you are Global Admin. Is that where you're doing this from?

You should be able to type in the URL of any site collection, including those belonging to Groups you are not a member of. If you are seeing something else, that's a bug and you should open a support case to have it investigated.

You can also just use PowerShell to create the policy/add locations.

Hi Max, 

I am trying to prevent owners from deleting Sites. Also wanting to retain any data from the sites. When you say permissions should be the way to prevent deletion totally, what is the preferred method to do this? e.g. as an admin we create a Groups connected site and only give them member access to that group?