SOLVED

Office 365 "The fine print" popup message - is it legitimate?

Copper Contributor

Greetings,

I have been happily using Office 365 (mostly Word) for many years, and I have never had any problems with any of the products. This morning when I loaded Word I was confronted by a pop-up message called "The fine print" asking me to accept terms of use in order to continue. I have been using Word for several years on this computer and I have never seen anything like this, I just want to confirm that this pop-up message is in fact legitimate and not some form of spyware or adware impersonating Microsoft.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated,

Glenn

Here is a screenshot of the pop-up:MSWord-TheFinePrintv2.png

122 Replies
Update - restore worked. Rolling back Microsoft Office Pro....16.0.10325.20082 allows me to access the Office 2016 apps (at least temporarily...) As MS becomes more and more intrusive, evaluating alternative office suites and operating systems may be necessary...the cynic in me wonders if, with all the electronics today, is privacy simply a memory of a previous generation and no longer maintainable. (Why are you laughing Alexa?)

My sense of it is that this suggests that this popup is Microsoft behavior.

Do others agree?     ... and why is Microsoft staying silent about the problem?

Hi Russ

The issue has seemed to go beyond the initial post of the prompt in Office 365 which makes sense to me as it's subscription based, but as you say is also causing grief in the Office 2016 space too.

I had a quick message exchange with Microsoft Community Manager Eric Starker and he is onto the issue and is trying to get a response from the relevant folks.

Guess we will have to wait and see what's happening!

Best wishes and good luck Russ.

Cheers
Damien

Hi Walter

Hope you are well.