Office 365 Basics

Copper Contributor

Hello everyone,

thanks for taking your time to read this. I am just getting started with O365 so if this is the wrong place for my question you might be able to point me into the right direction.

I am playing with an O365 Business Premium Version. This is supposed to be setted up for a small company with around 10 users.

We want a shared storage for everyone where the admin can restrict access to folder by groups and roles. As far as I could see, the OneDrive Cloud is only personal storage for every user in the company. Do I have to use Sharepoint if I want a folder structur used by everyone together?

I was hoping I could simply create all the folders with the admin user and then set up the priviliges like when I am using a Windows Server and Active Directory.

Im sure by now I made a total fool out of myself but every bit of help to get started with O365 is appreciated.

Regards,

Flo

12 Replies

Hey @Florian Maaß,

Don't worry about coming off as a fool, we all started our journey in O365 at some point, and it is a new and confusing world when you come from the rigid structure of on-prem where your applications are much more subscribed.

Suddenly you are in the cloud and there are so many shiny things, and options to play with.

To answer your question, group/company storage is setup and intended to be used in SharePoint. You can either create a document library in there directly, or what I would do in your case is go with a Team. Teams by default create with a files section, that is actually just a document library under the covers. This would give all your users an application they can use to chat, communicate, and share files easily.