Newbie O365 Question - Creating New Users

Copper Contributor

Hello, this is a newbie question so I apologize in advance for the entry level post.

I am a small business owner with 35 employees. I am currently using on premise exchange to host email. I plan to migrate mail to Office 365 in 3 months (after busy year end).

However, I want to get all my users up and running with the O365 Office Suite (Word, Excel, PowerPoint etc) and Microsoft Teams in the next few weeks.

I have already added my domain to O365.

I also already have 11 users setup with O365 Business Premium licenses. These users were setup on the onmicrosoft.com domain NOT my domain. EG their username's are name@mycompany.onmicrosoft.com

My question is this....Should i create the new users right now on the onmicrosoft.com domain OR my domain. Given the fact that I am not going to migrate my email to O365 for another 3 months does it matter what domain I create these new users under now in order to get them up and running with the Microsoft Suite and Teams?

Let me know, thank you!

Mark

10 Replies
You are not planning to run sync from AD to Azure AD?
You can create them and use your custom domain! Your mail will not be affected!
I was hoping to scratch AD altogether and use Azure AD for identity management and single sign on. We have a fairly lean IT infrastructure: 1) On premise exchange which will migrate to O365 2) On premise file server which will migrate to sharepoint/OneDrive 3) We do use the domain controller for basic group policy but its my understanding that Azure AD can handle this (could be wrong) 4) We use Sugar CRM which i understand can be linked to Azure AD for SSO Other than that, we don't really have much....
Ok! Yes you could join your devices to azure ad for sso! You don’t have gpo’s in azureAD but if you have win10 you can use Intune to push policy’s and apps and so on! It all depends on what your demands are