SOLVED

Intranet (SharePoint) Site Map — how to?

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I'm not a developer, nor do I work in IT.

I work in Internal Communications and I've been asked to create a site map of our [SharePoint] intranet. It's a fairly new intranet, so it's not huge, but I have no idea where to start or how to do it.

Is there a quick/easy way for me to do this using Office 365 or SharePoint etc?

Any information, advice, or guidance would be massively appreciated.

Thank you. 

S.

10 Replies
best response confirmed by SLJ13 (Copper Contributor)
Solution
Do you use classic mode and use sub sites etc? Or modern with team sites and communication sites?

I believe if you use the first mentioned you can get some hints here:

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/msoffice/forum/all/how-to-generate-a-site-map-of-sharepoint-site...

Otherwise using modern Sites in SharePoint there’s no built in tool for this! You can list all sites in the sharePoint admin center and since its modern , it’s mostly a flat structure! If hub sites are used you may built a hierarchy based upon that to show which sites are connected etc

Thank you@adam deltinger 

We use modern SharePoint with team sites and communication sites, so thank you for letting me know [that sadly] there isn't a tool for this.

I'll speak to the SharePoint consultants and get them to give me a steer :)

Hi, I'm curious to know if any more work has been done on this. . .  My company would like to have a sitemap at the Hub site of their Communications Site as well.  Has this been made possible yet or any other workarounds.  The Admin Center would identify sites not part of, or associated with the Communications site Hub site.  I wanted an out-of-the-box solution to provide to site owners.  please advise.

Thank you

@SLJ13 

Hi@avatribedeaux,

Would a manually made sitemap solve this issue?

@Rafael Granado 

Thank you, but it would need to automatically update as content is built.