We were investigating the feature that deleting a user automatically grants access to their OneDrive to their manager. This then starts the 30 day timer to delete the OneDrive. This would mean that when a user leaves the company, we could delete their account immediately and know that after 30 days, the files are gone.
However, does deleting their account also remove their email? We grant managers access to the employee's email so they can save out anything they might need. We also sometimes setup an auto-responder that says "John Smith is no longer with the company. Please contact Jane Doe with any issues". If we delete the user account to transfer the OneDrive, does that ruin our process for dealing with the email?