Creating a Department shared Calendar in Office 365?

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Office 365.

I have been asked my a department head to create a shared calendar that the whole department can use (view, edit, etc...).

It seems like there are a couple of ways to do this, but I want to know the best way or what does Microsoft recommend? Do I create a group then add users/members to it or do I create a new mailbox then add users/members to it as well? 

10 Replies

Define "best" way for you? What are the specific requirements? For example, will it need to be available on mobiles? As a webpage? How granular you want the permissions? 

@finsfree  Office 365 Group - and add members to it . Simple and Best !! 

• Multiple users can access a Group mailbox, just as they would a shared mailbox.
  • A Group mailbox can be used as a single point of email contact for a team or group of users, just as a shared mailbox can be.
  • Users can send-as or send-on-behalf of a Group mailbox, just as they would a shared mailbox.
  • Emails sent to Groups and shared mailboxes are preserved for historical reference, unless deleted by a user.

Office 365 Groups have additional features that shared mailboxes do not.

• Users (members) can subscribe to receive a copy in their own mailbox of the emails sent to the Group mailbox, which makes Groups work in a similar manner to distribution lists.
  • Groups include additional collaboration apps and resources such as a SharePoint team site, OneNote notebook, Planner, and Teams.
  • Groups have a guest access model for external collaboration that shared mailboxes do not.
  • Groups have connectors for integrating other applications.

However, shared mailboxes have some capabilities that may make them more suitable to teams than Groups.

• Shared mailboxes can have sub-folders in the mailbox, whereas Group mailboxes can't.
  • Shared mailboxes have more granular permissions available than Groups do.