Adding Mailbox Folder Permission for a User

Iron Contributor

I'm an Office 365 administrator, and sometimes I get a request to share a mailbox folder for a user. For instance, a manager may request access to the inbox of a team member to review emails during their vacation. In this case I would typically use Add-MailboxFolderPermission to grant Reviewer access to the inbox folder for the user:

Add-MailboxFolderPermission -Identity "frodo baggins:\inbox" -User "bilbo baggins" -AccessRights Reviewer

It seems that most times when I do this, it takes hours or days for Outlook 2016 to actually let the manager access the mailbox folder. The employee's mailbox does not automap into Outlook and manually opening the mailbox in the account settings adds the entry, but Outlook complains that it can't open the folder. Sometimes this starts working on it's own after several hours or the next day, but sometimes it seems to never work at all. If this is a time-sensitive request this doesn't work.

Recently I worked around this issue by granting full access to the mailbox which seemed to take place immediately and the mailbox auto mapped into Outlook. However, it's not always desirable to grant this level of access.

Is there something I am missing about how mailbox folder permissions can be granted by an administrator? Is there a workaround to get a shared folder showing up in Outlook more quickly? Thanks!

4 Replies

No, you're using the correct approach, it simply takes some time to replicate the changes. Dont forget to add access on the "top on information store" folder as well though. Full access permissions are also not instantaneous, I've had occasions that it took almost a day for them to apply. Oh, and there's no automapping when you grant folder level access, you have to add it manually in Outlook.